Page 1 of 1

Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:05 pm
by marzof
Hi,
I use QCAD 3.4.6 on Ubuntu 13.10.
If I create a block in a drawing and insert some block references I can modify their properties by Property Editor.
But if I close and re-open the file, when I select a block reference the Property Editor freezes preventing any properties change (layer, color, linetype, scale...).
It's very frustrating.
Is it a bug?
Marco

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:12 pm
by andrew
Could you please post or e-mail your drawing for testing? Thanks.

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:20 pm
by marzof
Here is the file.
Thanks.

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:31 pm
by andrew
Thanks. This looks fine here. Selecting a block reference (e.g. of block 'porta0') shows the appropriate properties in the property editor.

Can you perhaps post a screenshot of how the property editor looks like when you have one block reference selected? I'm not sure what you mean by 'freeze'...

It should look more or less like this:
Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 18.30.28.png
Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 18.30.28.png (36.97 KiB) Viewed 4754 times

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:47 pm
by marzof
Sure.
Even if the block reference is selected the Property Editor keep showing the previous selection (in this case no selection as showed in qcad0.png).
If I try to click on the fields nothing happens and if I move the Property Editor out (qcad1.png) it becomes black.
The only chance I have to change the properties of a block reference (after re-opening the file) is to create a new block and select it together with an existing "freezed" reference.
Could it be the operating system?
Shoud I try on Windows?
Thanks

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:56 pm
by Husky
marzof wrote:Could it be the operating system?
Hi,
your OS? - I don't know but your example drawing and my old XP32 are working very well together - even the Property editor.

Back to Andrew ... :wink:

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:14 pm
by marzof
I found something.
I tried on Windows and the problem persists. But, if I restore the Pro addons (I had disabled them because I don't need them and they occupy space on screen) the problem disappear.
Do you think it's a bug? I would'nt like to choose beetween less space and the ability to edit the block references properties.

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:27 pm
by andrew
Thanks for the details about the plugins. This is indeed what is causing that problem. This will be fixed for the next release.

For now it's probably the best to keep the plugins enabled [or of course upgrade to QCAD Pro ;)]

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:35 pm
by andrew

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:40 pm
by marzof
andrew wrote:Thanks for the details about the plugins. This is indeed what is causing that problem. This will be fixed for the next release.

For now it's probably the best to keep the plugins enabled [or of course upgrade to QCAD Pro ;)]
I'm teaching QCAD (instead of AutoCAD) in a university drawing course (Design school at Politecnico of Milano) because I'm a strong supporter of open source softwares.
I hope many of my students will appreciate your excellent software and become your next customers. :wink:

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:56 pm
by andrew
marzof wrote:I'm teaching QCAD (instead of AutoCAD) in a university drawing course (Design school at Politecnico of Milano) because I'm a strong supporter of open source softwares.
I hope many of my students will appreciate your excellent software and become your next customers. :wink:
Good to hear! Out of curiosity, what operating system(s) are you using at the polytechnicum?

Re: Property Editor freezes if block reference is selected

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:41 pm
by marzof
andrew wrote:Good to hear! Out of curiosity, what operating system(s) are you using at the polytechnicum?
Unfortunately the computers at school run Windows!