Maximum arc length

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
newinwit
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:36 pm

Maximum arc length

Postby newinwit » Thu May 01, 2014 12:36 am

Dear Forum,
Does QCAD have a limit to the length of arcs?
I am having some trouble making qcad-pro draw very long arcs. Here is the situation: I draw a square with sides measuring, say, 2,000,000 units (inches). Then, using the Arc by 2 Points with Angle Tool, I use the mouse to draw a 90-degree arc from one corner to the opposite corner. The result: qcad starts to draw the arc, but the arc disappears midway to the other corner. I draw arcs just fine with dimensions under a million units. I am using QCAD 3.4.7 on Mac 10.6.8.

Sincerely,
-newinwit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4758
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby andrew » Thu May 01, 2014 11:14 am

Yes, I can confirm this limitation (max. arc radius is 1e6).
However, this limit to avoid slow rendering is no longer needed and has been removed for the next release.

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1248
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby Clive » Thu May 01, 2014 12:19 pm

If it helps, for now as a workaround you can use the Ellipse tool.

Set Minor and Major axis.

Ellipse 1.png
Ellipse 1.png (2.81 KiB) Viewed 2220 times


Ellipse 2.png
Ellipse 2.png (4.07 KiB) Viewed 2220 times


Then Use the Divide tool, select first and second points and delete the part you don't need.

Ellipse 3.png
Ellipse 3.png (1.34 KiB) Viewed 2220 times
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

newinwit
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby newinwit » Thu May 01, 2014 1:42 pm

That explains it. Thanks for the quick reply, Andrew and Clive. I suppose I'll have to forgo the abstract doodling until the next release...

newinwit
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby newinwit » Fri May 02, 2014 1:54 am

One more thing: Clive, your ellipse trick works like a charm. Thanks!


Return to “QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest