Page 1 of 1

Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:16 am
by lphilpot
QCAD Pro 3.21.3.0
Xubuntu 18.04.2 Linux 64-bit

I'm just a QCAD putzer and I was intrigued by Husky's twisted wire drawing (in another topic) so I decided to try it. I got as far as a drawing with eight splines and four straight lines, on two layers. Then suddenly QCAD bogged down to a crawl. While my drawing may not be optimal, 12 objects isn't a lot. And it's just this drawing - Doing almost anything triggers a LOT of CPU but other drawings are fine.

For example, here's a CPU graph when I switched to it from another drawing:

Image

...and here's one when I hid a layer:

Image

Zooming is slow, etc., but saving is quick (although loading is slow). I had another drawing open as well and it's very quick, perfectly normal. Switching to other drawings is fast, but back to this one is slow. I cleaned it - No duplicate nor zero-length entities. Restarted QCAD, etc. No better.

The drawing is attached - What did I miss?

Thanks.

Re: Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:16 am
by Husky
lphilpot wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:16 am
I'm just a QCAD putzer and I was intrigued by Husky's twisted wire drawing ...
Here we go .... understood .... my fault ....... :lol: :lol: :lol:


I checked your drawing on my Win10 and I can't reproduce a crash. Then I bloated it with many copies ....

Husky-2019.03.07-02.png
Husky-2019.03.07-02.png (224.27 KiB) Viewed 520 times

.... which slows QCAD down but it is still stable. CPU (2 Cores) stays below 38%.

BTW: Your drawing looks already pretty good! :wink:

Re: Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:31 am
by andrew
It's the very fine dash-dot pattern of the red splines. Change the linetype of layer "red" to "continuous" or adjust the lineweight or linetype pattern scale or switch to screen-based linetypes (View > Screen-based Linetypes).

Re: Why did this drawing suddenly bring QCAD to its knees?

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 2:43 pm
by lphilpot
That was it. I created the drawing from my standard template and that layer was originally for center lines, hence the dashed line. The actual scale of the drawing (which I was going to reduce once done) made it so large I didn't notice the linestyle. Changed it to Continuous and all is well.

Excellent - I was at least relieved to see it was the drawing and not something in QCAD itself. :) Obviously Husky's computer is much faster than mine (which is admittedly a few years old).

Thanks.