Layer issue - Paste Along Entity

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
Panchdara
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Layer issue - Paste Along Entity

Post by Panchdara » Mon Oct 26, 2020 8:28 am

I have Layer1 and Layer2

Draw a path on layer1.
Draw a small circle on Layer1.
Copy small circle (that's on Layer1).

Select Layer2.
Edit/Paste Along Entity. (Select however many you wish, say 10). I used Include end points.
The circles are drawn. HOWEVER, they are on Layer1, not Layer2...

Makes sense?
3.25.2.1

Best
QCAD 3.25.2.4 / Windows 10 2004 x86_64

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Layer issue - Paste Along Entity

Post by CVH » Mon Oct 26, 2020 8:52 am

Hi,
Yes makes sense.

You copy an entity that exist on layer1.
The copies have the same layer property as the source. :wink:

PE doesn't have the same options as eg. PS to:
- use the current layer
- overwrite existing layers
- overwrite existing blocks

What troubles me more is that any individual hatch segment is a valid target .... :shock:
A hatch should be considered as a single complex entity not allowing certain actions. :roll:

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Panchdara
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: Layer issue - Paste Along Entity

Post by Panchdara » Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:06 am

Yeah, now the bulb filament is glowing. I was "assuming" that the pasted entity was going to take the layer property of the path. It makes sense to me now. I do appreciate your patience.

Regarding Hatches. Perhaps a suggestion to have option of an "ungrouped" hatch or a "block" hatch? Also, I'd like an option to change the hatch offset to an optional user defined origin.

Thanks again CVH.

Best
QCAD 3.25.2.4 / Windows 10 2004 x86_64

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Layer issue - Paste Along Entity

Post by CVH » Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:28 am

It's rather off-topic ...
Panchdara wrote:
Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:06 am
"ungrouped" hatch
That is a hatch exploded to its segments. :wink:
Panchdara wrote:
Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:06 am
I'd like an option to change the hatch offset to an optional user defined origin.
That is the specific hatch property 'Origin'. :wink:
One can alter that for all installed patterns ...
... but not for orphans that come with the drawing.
Panchdara wrote:
Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:06 am
"block" hatch
That is already the case for most actions. :roll:

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Layer issue - Paste Along Entity

Post by Husky » Mon Oct 26, 2020 7:19 pm

A feature request was filed months ago below:
https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=2087
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”