Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post your question about installing or upgrading QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
RobB
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 4:02 pm
Location: Alpnach, Switzerland

Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by RobB » Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:03 am

I installed the just released Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon on my laptop (older model, 8GB I7 2630QM, Radeon 6650HM), made no modifications.

Then I tried to Install the QCADCAM 3.24.3 Qt5 version. Install window shows, but the process stops at the point showing
"Initializing add-ons 99% BrowseUserManual". A retry gave the same result. Starting QCAD made the system hang (power shutdown needed)

Could LM 20 miss some Qt components?

The Qt4 version installed completely, as it did on the LM 19.3 version that was on the laptop before.

Rob
Linux Mint 20 , qcadcam-3.24.3.10-pro-linux-x86_64

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by petevick » Sat Jul 04, 2020 4:07 pm

are you using 64 or 32bit Linux, are you installing the correct Qcad package to suit your Linux install, ie 64bit for 64bit, 32bit for 32bit
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.26.3

RobB
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 4:02 pm
Location: Alpnach, Switzerland

Re: Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by RobB » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:26 pm

Certainly - 64bit. Linux Mint 20 does not have a 32 bit version. Which I noticed when trying to install an old 32 bit only application...

Rob
Linux Mint 20 , qcadcam-3.24.3.10-pro-linux-x86_64

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by petevick » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:32 pm

RobB wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:26 pm
Certainly - 64bit. Linux Mint 20 does not have a 32 bit version. Which I noticed when trying to install an old 32 bit only application...

Rob
So are you using a 64bit Qcad install package?
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.26.3

RobB
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 4:02 pm
Location: Alpnach, Switzerland

Re: Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by RobB » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:35 pm

Indeed. Is there even a 32 bit Qt5 version?

It sits on this laptop, so here you have the precise indication:
qcadcam-3.24.3-pro-linux-qt5.13-x86_64

Rob
Linux Mint 20 , qcadcam-3.24.3.10-pro-linux-x86_64

User avatar
petevick
Premier Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am
Location: North Norfolk coast UK

Re: Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by petevick » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:46 pm

RobB wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:35 pm
Indeed. Is there even a 32 bit Qt5 version?

It sits on this laptop, so here you have the precise indication:
qcadcam-3.24.3-pro-linux-qt5.13-x86_64

Rob
I've a feeling you're using the wrong install. Maybe try qt4
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.26.3

RobB
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 4:02 pm
Location: Alpnach, Switzerland

Re: Installing QCADCAM Qt5 on Linux Mint 20

Post by RobB » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:48 pm

As per my topic message, The Qt4 version installed properly, and I am running it now.

Rob
Linux Mint 20 , qcadcam-3.24.3.10-pro-linux-x86_64

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Installation and Upgrades”