How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

Locked
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5637
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:43 pm

From a QCAD user:

I want to move a rectangle by a given amount, for example 22.5 units to the right.
Last edited by andrew on Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5637
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:44 pm

1. Select the rectangle.
2. Modify - Move / Copy
3. Choose reference point
4. Choose target point with the mouse or enter a coordinate in the command line. To move the rectangle 22.5 units to the right, enter the relative coordinate:
@22.5,0
Press the Enter key to confirm.
5. In the Move / Copy dialog, choose "Keep Original"
6. Click "OK"

benp87
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 1:30 pm

Re:

Post by benp87 » Fri May 04, 2012 1:32 pm

andrew wrote:1. Select the rectangle.
2. Modify - Move / Copy
3. Choose reference point
4. Choose target point with the mouse or enter a coordinate in the command line. To move the rectangle 22.5 units to the right, enter the relative coordinate:
@22.5,0
Press the Enter key to confirm.
5. In the Move / Copy dialog, choose "Keep Original"
6. Click "OK"
Awesome.. Thanks..

onsitewellness
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:26 am

Re: How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Post by onsitewellness » Thu May 17, 2012 12:45 am

I thought moving a figure like rectangle is simply a cut and paste thing....hehehe...thanks for this anyway.

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1314
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Post by Clive » Thu May 17, 2012 7:31 am

onsitewellness wrote:I thought moving a figure like rectangle is simply a cut and paste thing....hehehe...thanks for this anyway.
The difference is that with the Move/Copy tool you are presented with the Move/Copy options window!
Attachments
Move,Copy options dialog window.png
Move,Copy options dialog window.png (45.97 KiB) Viewed 14923 times

josephillips
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 11:48 am

Re:

Post by josephillips » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:55 pm

andrew wrote:1. Select the rectangle.
2. Modify - Move / Copy
3. Choose reference point
4. Choose target point with the mouse or enter a coordinate in the command line. To move the rectangle 22.5 units to the right, enter the relative coordinate:
@22.5,0
Press the Enter key to confirm.
5. In the Move / Copy dialog, choose "Keep Original"
6. Click "OK"

Wow. Thanks to this. It answered my problem now.
I'm new to forum posting you know. It just feels good that we can easily find solutions to our problems by just surfing the net.. :)

Locked

Return to “QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions”