Single Entity Selection Tool ?

Tips and tricks you want to share with other users. Tutorials, user submitted documentation, etc.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Da5idZ
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:18 pm

Single Entity Selection Tool ?

Post by Da5idZ » Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:26 pm

Just getting started with QCAD. Downloaded and installed the professional version so I should have the latest version. The reference manual shows a Single Entity Selection tool available on the selection menu but I don't seem to get one. I did get it accidentally one time but I don't know how. :) Is it somewhere else now?

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3641
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Single Entity Selection Tool ?

Post by Husky » Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:31 pm

Hi,
to select a single entity just left click with the mouse on an entity in your drawing ... :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Da5idZ
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:18 pm

Solved Re: Single Entity Selection Tool ?

Post by Da5idZ » Mon Apr 19, 2021 6:49 pm

Thanks Husky. I guess it was too obvious to mention in the reference.

But it seems you need to right-click in the drawing to get the single entity tool after going to the selection menu, and then left-click to actually select a line segment.

I'm encountering this kind of situation more and more these days with various products. The software evolves and changes but the reference material and manuals don't keep up. :roll:

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1336
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Single Entity Selection Tool ?

Post by CVH » Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:37 am

hi,

Never seen a single-selection tool under Menu .. Select.

An R-click in the drawing panel usually opens the context menu.
Herein you might find the tools last used, listed up among some standard entries.
All depends on your settings in Application Preferences .. Graphics View .. Context Menu
And if you did R-click in the plain void or near a drawing entity.

Many things depend on preferences ... :wink:

L-click near a drawing entity is usually 'single select'.
With Shift-L-click one can add/remove selected.
An L-click in the plain void clears such a selection.

That is, if there is no tool active.
Once a tool is active, the buttons gets a specific meaning.
ToolButtons.png
Line from 2 points activated
ToolButtons.png (1.09 KiB) Viewed 1981 times
In this case and at present state, an R-Click would terminate the tool.
(What also can be done with Escape or typing QQ.)
Da5idZ wrote:
Mon Apr 19, 2021 6:49 pm
But it seems you need to right-click in the drawing to get the single entity tool after ...
Yes, as R-Click = Cancel for TR, TP, TC, TX and TL. :wink:
Da5idZ wrote:
Mon Apr 19, 2021 6:49 pm
The software evolves and changes but the reference material and manuals don't keep up.
For sure...
I can only advise you to get really acquainted with QCAD as there is usually more to it.
There are many ways to achieve the same goal.

Still, if you find that the manual is outdated in some parts, then please file a documented report at:
https://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/

Regards,
CVH

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Tips and Tutorials”