Drawing a Line with a Given Length

Tips and tricks you want to share with other users. Tutorials, user submitted documentation, etc.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5702
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Drawing a Line with a Given Length

Post by andrew » Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:32 pm

There are several ways to draw a line with a certain length.

If you also know the angle of the line in degrees, you can use the line with angle tool:
Draw > Line > Line from Angle

1. Enter the angle and length of the line
2. Place the line in the drawing

If the angle is not known as value but rather visible in the drawing, you can use the regular line tool:
Draw > Line > Line from 2 Points
1. Click the start point of the line
2. Click the "Restrict Angle or Length" button in the options tool bar:
Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 15.09.56.png
Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 15.09.56.png (14.5 KiB) Viewed 7195 times
3. Enter the desired length in the options tool bar:
4. When placing the end point of the line now, the line automatically has the desired length (or a multiple thereof):
Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 15.17.35.png
Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 15.17.35.png (150.23 KiB) Viewed 7195 times
Another way is to draw the line with the wrong length first and then use the property editor to adjust the length:
Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 15.29.45.png
Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 15.29.45.png (164.65 KiB) Viewed 7195 times
There are also other ways to specify a length of a line, for example by trimming, trimming by a given amount, entering the end coordinates relative to the start point, etc.

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1314
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Draw line with given length

Post by Clive » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:31 pm

In addition, you can also use the Horizontal and Vertiacl Line tools, just enter the required length in the 'Length' field :D .
Horizontal and Vertical Lines.png
Horizontal and Vertical Lines.png (19.07 KiB) Viewed 7053 times
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Tips and Tutorials”