Page 1 of 1

Returning from editing a block to the main drawing

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:31 pm
by andrew
The contents of a block can be edited for example by double-clicking on a block reference in the graphics view or by double-clicking its name in the block list.

QCAD then opens the block as if it was a separate drawing (though using the same layers, settings, etc).
Whenever you save your drawing in this block editing mode, the entire drawing is saved. In other words, it does not matter if you are editing a block or the main drawing, saving always saves the entire drawing. As a side-note: the 'main drawing' is in fact nothing else than a special block called '*Model_Space'.

After editing the block contents (adding, deleting, modifying entities), you can return to the main drawing by choosing Block > Return to Main Drawing.

If you frequently end up editing a block due to an unintended double-click on a block reference, you can disable the editing of blocks by double-click in the application preferences:
Edit > Application Preferences > Graphics View > Behavior > Double-click on block reference opens block
Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 16.31.01.png
Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 16.31.01.png (172.35 KiB) Viewed 9291 times