Hello From Bismarck, ND

Post to this forum to introduce yourself to this forum if you are new here. You might want to include some information about the work you are doing or planning to do with QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

ljbuller

Hello From Bismarck, ND

Post by ljbuller » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:34 am

Hi All. I am fairly new to QCAD, and I'm pretty impressed.
My company makes cnc machine tools geared towards the Aircraft Electronics industry.
Along with our machine we have supplied a copy of EasyCAD. It is a simple CAD but very fast and has an elegant quick interface. The author is the original author of AutoCAD.
The author has failed to update it and with newer versions of Windows, it has a nasty habit of crashing which does not endure it to the user. Ironically the auto save is one of the things that make it crash.

I want to find a CAD that I can easily configure so that when I go to train my customers, we don't have to spend a half day setting up the CAD environment.

Our machine ships with a folder of pre drawn aircraft instrument panels and another folder of aircraft instrument drawings. Our software directly uses the dxf files to cut the instrument panels out of aluminum sheet. It automatically generates the tool paths based on entities on particular layers.

EasyCAD has a "insert part" feature which is similar to blocks. With this command we go to our instrument folder, select a instrument and drop it on the screen. All of the entities stay grouped like a block, however unlike a block reference all of the entities are copied into the main file at each insertion. All of the entities stay grouped together so parts of the instrument do not get out of position when moved.

I see that QCAD has a block command, but the only way I can see to use it with an outside file is to file - import, which loads it just fine, but there is no grouping. so now we have to go through the create block from selection process which adds a lot of keystrokes.