Script comand lost

Post here to ask questions about or get help with the scripting module of QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

Locked
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Script comand lost

Post by J-J » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:26 pm

Hello,
I just installed the QCAD pro 2.2.2.1 over 2.2.2.0; The script command no longer appears in the upper row of commands.
In the "about QCAD window, it says "Modules: none" whereas I previously had "scripting".
How do I recover the missing module ?
Thanks
JJ

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5367
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Post by andrew » Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:48 pm

QCAD 2.2.2.1 fixes a problem with the file dialog under certain Windows installations but it does not have scripting support.

The reason for this lays in the Qt library version 4.5. QCAD 2.2.2.1 has to link against this new version of Qt to fix the file dialog bug. However, Qt 4.5 no longer supports QSA, the scripting environment which is used in QCAD.

Scripting will be back (and significantly more powerful) in QCAD 3 in the form of ECMAScript (JavaScript).

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

scripting

Post by J-J » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:51 am

Thanks for the reply, I'll re-install version 2.2.2.0. I found that going down the directory tree from C:, rather than trying to go up, would not produce the crashes when using "save as".
Looking forward to version 3!
Thanks
JJ

Locked

Return to “QCAD 2.1/2.2 Developers”