Torch Start

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Indicate the post processor used.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Torch Start

Post by jthornton » Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:18 pm

Where would I insert the G code to start my plasma torch when the machine has moved the torch down to the material. For example you get a rapid to the start point then a Z move down after that and before the feed move I need to start the torch. I've looked at GCode.prototype.writeToolDown and GCode.prototype.toolIsDown and I'm not sure which one is the one I'm looking for.

Thanks
JT

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Torch Start

Post by jthornton » Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:32 pm

I figured out I think how to add the torch start.

Code: Select all

// add subroutine call to fire the torch
Lcnc_Plasma.prototype.writeToolDown = function() {
    this.g = GCode.Mode.Normal;
    this.z = this.getToolDownLevel();
    this.toolPosition = GCode.ToolPosition.Down;
    this.writeLine(); // this is the Z down move
    this.writeLine("o<touchoff> call");
    this.toolIsDown();
};

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”