[solved] Pockets

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

[solved] Pockets

Post by Dreamaker » Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Is there any way to cut pockets with Qcad/Cam. Mainly random shapes kind of, other that rectangles, rounds, and consistent shapes.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5556
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Pockets

Post by andrew » Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:56 am

Pocket toolpaths are planned for a future release of QCAD/CAM.

For now, you could use the offset tool to create the exact geometry of the pocket toolpath (path of tool middle). Then create a toolpath from the offset polylines without any tool radius correction.

- Select contour(s) to offset, including islands
- Modify > Offset (with Distance)
- Enter distance (tool radius or less)
- Enter number (e.g. 100 which will likely be exhaustive)
- Click one of the selected contours to create the offset polylines
- Clean up offset polylines if necessary
- Select all offset polylines and create a toolpath from them without radius compensation or lead in / out
Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 11.53.11.png
Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 11.53.11.png (22.49 KiB) Viewed 2613 times

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Pockets

Post by Dreamaker » Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:06 pm

Sorry I didn't get back sooner, I got my Gallbladder taken out and was not in the mood for CNC'ing. But now I am close to normal, the information you gave me worked out great. Got to pay attention to poly lines when you setup tool paths. I did two test pieces with mating pieces to fit together.
Thank You it worked.
Attachments
P1010010.JPG
P1010010.JPG (1.11 MiB) Viewed 1951 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5556
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Pockets

Post by andrew » Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:25 pm

Sorry to hear about your condition. I hope you're fit again!

Many thanks for the feedback and for showing the results. Looks great!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”