Compensation off must not be followed by arc - error

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
JSRoy
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:28 pm

Compensation off must not be followed by arc - error

Post by JSRoy » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:49 pm

Hi all,

I wanted my machine to cut the number 8 in wood. So I created the number 8 using QCAD/CAM, exploded the 8, configured and exported my cutting path using QCAD/CAM.

When I opened my .nc file using CNCLinux, it gave me a strange error:
The move just after exiting cutter compensation mode must be straight, not an arc
on line 23 of my .nc file.

Line 23, as generated by QCAD/CAM, is like so:

Code: Select all

N230 G40 X1.625 Y2.1806
The error goes away if I change it like this:

Code: Select all

N230 G40 G1 X1.625 Y2.1806
I'm very new at CNC and G-Coding. Any insight as to why I get this error?

Thank you,

JSRoy
Attachments
test228.dxf
(614.28 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
test228.nc
(19.04 KiB) Downloaded 53 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5641
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Compensation off must not be followed by arc - error

Post by andrew » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:38 pm

Please proceed as follows:
- Quit QCAD/CAM
- Save the attached files LinuxCNC.js and LinuxCNCIN.js into the postprocessors folder of your QCAD/CAM installation.
- Start QCAD/CAM and load the updated attached file test228.dxf

This will add the extra G1 for every G40.

Note that I've also changed your lead in / out to quarter arcs since the straight leads would have left you with a small bump where the paths start / end. Feel free to change those back if you had other reasons for that.
Attachments
test228.dxf
(661.82 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
LinuxCNC.js
(289 Bytes) Downloaded 58 times
LinuxCNCIN.js
(294 Bytes) Downloaded 56 times

JSRoy
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:28 pm

Re: Compensation off must not be followed by arc - error

Post by JSRoy » Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:15 pm

Thank you for the fix, it works fine!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”