Outer Tool Path

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Outer Tool Path

Post by Dreamaker » Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:26 am

I have a question, I have a drawing, sort has a shape of a pin pong paddle. I have some internal cut ous they worked fine. But when I went to set the tool path to cut the outside, it wouldn't set to the outside, it switch to the inside. My setting s are, Side:Outside, Depth:5.5, Lead in:Normal, Lead In Length: 3. Hit OK and the tool path goes to the inside rather than the outside what it is set for. Any ideas???
Attachments
VacBracket.jpg
VacBracket.jpg (517.28 KiB) Viewed 2018 times
CamProfile.jpg
CamProfile.jpg (362.44 KiB) Viewed 2018 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Outer Tool Path

Post by andrew » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:49 am

Please attach your DXF file whenever something is not working with a particular file, thanks.

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Outer Tool Path

Post by Dreamaker » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:59 pm

here is the DXF file.
Attachments
VacBracket2.dxf
(103.46 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Outer Tool Path

Post by andrew » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:18 pm

The contour in not closed.

For open contours, "inside" and "outside" are not defined and QCAD/CAM cuts the polyline in the same direction as defined by the polyline, from start to end, at either the left of right side (as chosen in the profile toolpath dialog).
Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 13.16.37.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 13.16.37.png (43.93 KiB) Viewed 2004 times
Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 13.16.50.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 13.16.50.png (30.31 KiB) Viewed 2004 times

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Outer Tool Path

Post by Dreamaker » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:39 pm

I was with they assumption that when I made it one solid gray poly-line they were all connected. I cant figure how to connect these lines, have any advice on how to connect. This is probably why I have been having issues overall, having incomplete poly-lines

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Outer Tool Path

Post by andrew » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:52 pm

Dreamaker wrote:I was with they assumption that when I made it one solid gray poly-line they were all connected.
Polylines consist of connected segments. However, the start point and the end point of the polyline may or may not be at the same coordinate. If you want to guarantee that a polyline is always closed, you can set its "Closed" property to "Yes" in the property editor.
Dreamaker wrote:I cant figure how to connect these lines, have any advice on how to connect.
Ideally, you would want to correct the geometry to be exactly the way you want it to be (assuming you know the exact measurements your piece needs to have). If precision is not an issue, simply zoom in and drag the end point of the polyline to its start point.

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Outer Tool Path

Post by Dreamaker » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:28 pm

Thank You!!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”