Side/Dir. "On" function

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by Dreamaker » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:37 pm

I was doing a wooden face plate for an AC socket. The edge I wanted a concave radius on it. I used a 1/2" radius router bit, so I creates a rectangle slightly larger than then outside of the plate. In profile Is set the tool size as 6.35 and in Side/Dir. box I set the side for "On" figuring it would follow the line in the center of the bit. Well it didn't it ran 5mm outside the rectangle and missed the plate totally. So I tricked the the CNC Router, I changed the tool size from 6.35mm to .02mm and it nearly ran center of the path rectangle. So my question is, if you choose in the Side box the "On" shouldn't it follow the line in the center of the bit.
Attachments
P1010018.JPG
P1010018.JPG (67.74 KiB) Viewed 1780 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by andrew » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:57 pm

Dreamaker wrote:So my question is, if you choose in the Side box the "On" shouldn't it follow the line in the center of the bit.
Yes, that's the idea. If you attach your DXF, I can tell you more.

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by Dreamaker » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:46 pm

I should mention, in the simulation it showed like it was suppose to, but when I did the actual piece it cut 5mm outside the line. I don't have the original DXF file it got over written. But this file was saved just afterwards.
Attachments
SocketPlate1.dxf
(601.07 KiB) Downloaded 40 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by andrew » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:12 pm

Dreamaker wrote:I don't have the original DXF file it got over written.
OK, let me know if it happens again and you have a file. The G-Code reveals exactly what a machine should do.

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by Dreamaker » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:36 pm

Like I said, that file in question when I ran the simulator it didn't show any issues, but when I ran it on the CNC Router/Mach 3 it was different. I will later on make a run with that file on my system and see f it will do it again. Also in that photo if you notice on the circular plate, there is a flaw near the inter circle. After switching tools and ran it, it started outside the inner circle when it also was set for "On" and couldn't figure out why.
Attachments
SocketShielf2.dxf
(376.82 KiB) Downloaded 39 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by andrew » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:46 pm

Can you please attach the G-Code with the DXF file? The G-Code shows the full and final truth about what the machine is supposed to do and also whether the problem is with the G-Code (i.e. QCAD/CAM) or elsewhere.

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by Dreamaker » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:37 pm

Here is the g-code for the shelf.
Attachments
SocketShielf2.nc
(7.21 KiB) Downloaded 39 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5552
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by andrew » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:02 pm

Looks like Mach3 does not like the radius compensation (G41/G42). I'd suggest to use a lead in / lead out radius (currently 6.36) that is more significantly larger than the tool radius (6.35).

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Side/Dir. "On" function

Post by Dreamaker » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:57 pm

Thank You Again!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”