[solved] Newbie Question: Dimensions not displaying accurately

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

kjlinders5
Newbie Member

[solved] Newbie Question: Dimensions not displaying accurately

Post by kjlinders5 » Thu Feb 01, 2024 11:25 pm

Hi

I'm new to QCAD but not new to architectural drawing. I have some experience years ago with a different CAD software package. Not a novice and definitely not a power user.

I'm using QCAD Community Version
Version: 3.27.8.0 (3.27.8)
Internet: QCAD.org
Build Date: Oct 6 2022
Revision: dea3962
Qt Version: 5.13.2
Architecture: x86_64
Compiler: MSVC++ 14.0 (2015)
I have a Desktop computer running Windows 11 Home 64 bit with 12 GB of Installed RAM

My problem.
I'm drawing a template to drill holes accurately in an acrylic panel for a router sled I'm building. I'm using linear bearings. The bearing blocks are 50x54 mm and the hole pattern is 40x40 mm.

I draw up the rectangle with the dimensions and layout lines for the holes. When I dimension the drawing the dimensions are way off. My 54 mm side is 152.1 mm and the 50 mm side is 56.3 mm. When I print the drawing and don't Fit to Page, the drawing seems to be spot on.

I have attached the drawing.

I used Drawing Preferences to set Drawing Units to Metric and millimeters. Dimension Settings are mm with a Scale Factor of 1.

What am I doing wrong or not setting up properly? I usually draw in imperial but will switch to metric as needed as in this case. The drawings supplied with the linear bearing are in metric. I would like the dimensions of my drawings to be accurate for my future build projects like a workbench, miter table station and the like.

Thanks in advance for your guidance and advice.
Attachments
Linear Bearing Block Layout Jig.dxf
(33.16 KiB) Downloaded 92 times

CVH
Premier Member

Re: Newbie Question: Dimensions not displaying accurately

Post by CVH » Fri Feb 02, 2024 1:03 am