How do I align/snap blocks by multiple reference points

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
steven
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 7:43 pm

How do I align/snap blocks by multiple reference points

Post by steven » Sun Feb 22, 2015 7:48 pm

I am trying to make a floor plan of a kitchen and I made blocks for all the furniture in it.

I made the blocks with the 0,0 point in the upper left corner, but now when I want to put the blocks into the room I drew, they only align by that point.

Most of my blocks are rectangular, so ideally I would want to make them snap line-to-line or corner-to-corner. Is this possible?

EDIT: Ubuntu Linux and QCAD CE v3.8.1.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2527
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How do I align/snap blocks by multiple reference points

Post by Husky » Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:13 pm

Hi Steven - welcome to the forum!
steven wrote:... I want to put the blocks into the room I drew, they only align by that point.
Whats about to use the "Rotation / Scaling / Flipping options" for blocks?
Husky-2015.02.22-03.png
Husky-2015.02.22-03.png (6.1 KiB) Viewed 3595 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

steven
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: How do I align/snap blocks by multiple reference points

Post by steven » Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:48 pm

That would work for rectangles, but i also have non-symmetric forms, like some rectangles together.

steven
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: How do I align/snap blocks by multiple reference points

Post by steven » Sun Feb 22, 2015 9:21 pm

I found a pseudo-solution.

I can place it at a random place and use the move function. I can take the right corner and with intersection snapping enabled, I can put it aligned to any other corner.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”