Page 1 of 1

Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 6:28 am
by Rabindra
Sir,
Can you help me regarding the following problem
When i exported freecad drawing file as Dxf. and open this dxf. file in Qcad.
Than hidden lines are generated in Qcad.
Here in attachment i marked all those splines as indicated in arrow mark in Qcad_Draw file.
Is there any way to avoid this kind of situation?

Best regards,
R.Kumar

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:17 am
by andrew
QCAD loads and displays the DXF file as it is saved on disk. If there are any unwanted entities, they are present in the DXF file. I.e. Freecad in this case exports the DXF file as it is displayed by QCAD.

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:33 am
by Rabindra
Sir,
Sorry to say i could not get the thing?

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:16 am
by Husky
Hi R.Kumar - would it be possible to provide an example drawing from FreeCad for us?

Another question: Is this particular drawing designed with FreeCad?

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:37 am
by Rabindra
Sir,
Here i ataached Qcad file which has been exported directly from freecad drawing file.
Regards,
R.Kumar

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:45 am
by andrew
Thanks for the file.

Again, I can confirm that QCAD is showing exactly what Freecad has exported. Freecad does not clip or remove those hidden parts.

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:09 am
by Rabindra
Sir,
Whetever i shown by indicating arrow mark where the inner line should not come.
But it is there in Qcad. I already posted that freecad image file where it is showing perfectly.

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:18 am
by andrew
I'm not sure how I can explain this any better.

Freecad exports its drawing to the DXF format. This means that it stores all lines, arcs, etc. of the Freecad drawing into a DXF file. This export process in Freecad is not perfect and it makes some mistakes. Namely, it also exports segments that should not be exported because they should be invisible.

In other words: the problem is on the Freecad side and not on the QCAD side. It's a limitation of Freecad DXF export. It is not possible to fix this problem in QCAD, since it is a problem in Freecad and not in QCAD.

You can verify this by loading the DXF file into any other application that can read DXF. The DXF drawing will be shown exactly the same as in QCAD.

I hope this helps you to understand what is going on. Perhaps you can contact the Freecad developers and ask if they intend to improve their export feature.

Re: Regarding '' How to avoid Hidden line in Qcad while importing Dxf from Freecad''

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:40 pm
by Husky
Hi R.Kumar - everything what Andrew said is absolutely correct! The Problem exist not on the QCAD side - it exist on the FreeCad side which is not able to provide a proper drawing export.

Here an example which is done with an other 3D Programm (Freeware!) + QCAD

In this program I have the option to tell the 3D Program how to export the Drawing:
Husky-2016.11.04-01.png
Husky-2016.11.04-01.png (8.21 KiB) Viewed 7429 times
If I use this options to export my 3D Drawing ...
Husky-2016.11.04-02.png
Husky-2016.11.04-02.png (29.82 KiB) Viewed 7429 times
... I get an extra Layer for invisible lines ...
Husky-2016.11.04-07.png
Husky-2016.11.04-07.png (36.07 KiB) Viewed 7429 times
... if I turn the visibility of this Layer off or delete this Layer in QCAD the Hidden Entities are gone
Husky-2016.11.04-08.png
Husky-2016.11.04-08.png (30.67 KiB) Viewed 7429 times
I assume that is what you are looking for but I do NOT think that is currently possible with FreeCad!