[FeatureRequest] Include shared blocks and layers

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply

Support shared blocks and layers

Useful.
2
100%
I don't need that.
0
No votes
I don't know.
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 2

massimo
Active Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

[FeatureRequest] Include shared blocks and layers

Post by massimo » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:02 pm

Hi,

is there any way or plan to support shared blocks and layers and including that in the drawings?

I start one drawing with most blocks and layers, later I copy lot of blocks into new drawings. Later it is very difficult to have all used blocks and layers synchronized over the drawings. Even copying a changed block from one drawing into some other drawing that already had a version of that block makes the old block appear instead. So it is always required to remove the old block first before copying. That means loosing all instances of that block.

The only solution currently is, to have all drawings in one single file, which is worse. For printing it would be required to switch the print area around.
git build current origin/master, Gentoo Linux on amd64

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5636
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: [FeatureRequest] Include shared blocks and layers

Post by andrew » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:09 pm

is there any way or plan to support shared blocks and layers and including that in the drawings?
For blocks, that's called an XRef and yes, support for XRefs is planned (QCAD Pro):
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... ask_id=693

For layers there's no such thing as a shared layer in DXF/DWG.
Even copying a changed block from one drawing into some other drawing that already had a version of that block makes the old block appear instead.
Choose "overwrite blocks" when pasting.

massimo
Active Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: [FeatureRequest] Include shared blocks and layers

Post by massimo » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:59 pm

andrew wrote:
is there any way or plan to support shared blocks and layers and including that in the drawings?
Choose "overwrite blocks" when pasting.
Where do I find that? I search in Edit->Insert or in the application settings.
git build current origin/master, Gentoo Linux on amd64

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2145
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: [FeatureRequest] Include shared blocks and layers

Post by Husky » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:12 pm

massimo wrote:
andrew wrote:
is there any way or plan to support shared blocks and layers and including that in the drawings?
Choose "overwrite blocks" when pasting.
Where do I find that? I search in Edit->Insert or in the application settings.
The option bar pops up when you use e.g. Library/Insert or Clipboard/Paste
Husky-2018.01.29-03.png
Husky-2018.01.29-03.png (90.73 KiB) Viewed 1822 times
If not then you have to activate the option bar below ...
Husky-2018.01.29-04.png
Husky-2018.01.29-04.png (98.99 KiB) Viewed 1822 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

cadtec
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 8:05 am

Re: [FeatureRequest] Include shared blocks and layers

Post by cadtec » Tue May 08, 2018 8:41 am

Hallo QCAD-Team

Wir sind ebenfalls sehr an XREF interessiert.

Beste Grüsse,
André

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”