Dimension abberation mystery. (solved).

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
Jim0000
Active Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:03 am

Dimension abberation mystery. (solved).

Post by Jim0000 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:47 am

I went back to a previous drawing and planned to scale the airfoil section in it to a new size.
The dimensions of the archived drawing and the new dimensions differed wildly, with no apparent relationship.
Why is this happening?
What can I do to correct it?
Screenshot attached.
Attachments
Dimension abberation.png
Dimension abberation.png (168.36 KiB) Viewed 849 times
Last edited by Jim0000 on Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2571
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimension abberation mystery.

Post by Husky » Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:15 pm

Please check the "Linear Factor" for each dim within the Property Editor. They are identical?

Husky-2019.03.13-01.png
Husky-2019.03.13-01.png (23.89 KiB) Viewed 837 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Jim0000
Active Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Dimension abberation mystery.

Post by Jim0000 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:44 pm

Husky wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:15 pm
Please check the "Linear Factor" for each dim within the Property Editor. They are identical?
No, they were not identical. I changed the larger one back to 1 (both are 1 not) and that fixed the problem.
Thanks.

However, when I draw in another dimension, it defaults back to the same situation. I have to keep changing the linear factor back to 1.
Why is that?

Jim.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2571
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimension abberation mystery.

Post by Husky » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:19 am

Jim0000 wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:44 pm
However, when I draw in another dimension, it defaults back to the same situation. I have to keep changing the linear factor back to 1.
Why is that?
When you launch a dim tool keep an eye on the dim option bar. On the right side is the possibility to choose a scale (Linear Factor) for the dim. In your case it needs to be 1:1.

Husky-2019.03.13-02.png
Husky-2019.03.13-02.png (17.41 KiB) Viewed 810 times

Note: QCAD will remember the scale setting which means it will keep the last setting until you change it.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Jim0000
Active Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Dimension abberation mystery. (solved).

Post by Jim0000 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:22 am

I found that; it seems that is all it was. The scale was defaulting to something other than 1:1.
I expect to be able to avoid the problem in future.
Thanks again Husky.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2571
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimension abberation mystery. (solved).

Post by Husky » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:23 pm

You're quite welcome.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”