Debug output

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
Galudinho
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:58 am

Debug output

Post by Galudinho » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:01 am

Hi.
I'm trying the scripting tutorial.

https://www.qcad.org/doc/qcad/latest/de ... _tool.html

Where will be this message by this function as output?

qDebug("ExThreePoints.prototype.beginEvent was called.");

I expected that the message will be appear in "debug output" or "console" of "Qt script debugger."

I inserted "Debugger;" in my code and run it, But this message doesn't appear both of there.
Also nothing appeared on the console of QCAD too.

Do I need some setting to show it?

Thank you.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Debug output

Post by andrew » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:38 pm

Assuming you're on Windows.

You'll have to stream the output to a file to view it:

Code: Select all

qcad.exe 1>log 2>&1
cat log
Windows applications cannot show a GUI and output to the console.

Galudinho
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:58 am

Re: Debug output

Post by Galudinho » Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:43 am

Hi. Andrew.

Thank you for your reply.
As you said, I'm using Windows.
(I should tell it when I posted here...Sorry.)

I tried it below command on command prompt.
Then the Debug message was shown.
qcad.exe 1>log 2>&1
cat log
Thank you.

NOTE : The command "cat" was not worked.

... I didn't know well about standard stream.
So I searched a little about above command,
I could know "type" is the command on the Windows command prompt to show output.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”