How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 2:28 pm

Hi All,

Introduction
I am trying to find a new CAD application on Linux since Draftsight (which I have been using for years) has decided to change their licensing model to a hefty €99,- per year even for home use.

For the last several months I have testing a number of CAD apps on Linux and QCAD (Pro) looks to be the best and most professional offering on the market. The licensing model (buy once - use forever) in combination with the price and upgrade policy is very reasonable to say the least.

Question
I am having a problem though with AutoCAD drawings using complex linetypes. Especially the linetypes zig zag and to a lesser extent batting. I cannot get them to show or print properly. I have set the "Display entities with more than..." setting to 5000 and even 100000 but still they pattern doesn't show. I have changed linetype scale to a variety of sizes and checked if I were in Drafting mode (which I wasn't). Still no luck.
QCAD preferences.jpg
QCAD preferences.jpg (91.66 KiB) Viewed 1483 times
The actual question :wink: :How do I get to display complex linetypes correctly?

Note that I have tried this with the latest trial version with the premium features enabled and disabled.

Why is this so important you might ask? Well, I have a large amount of drawings of various reconstruction projects of my house. All using complex linetypes like zig zag. I would really like to be able to re-use these drawings for other reconstruction projects in the future.

Looking forward to any suggestion you might have!

Warmest regards,

Sjonnie

Edit: Forgot to add the specs of the system:

Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit
QCAD 3.22.0.0
Build Date: Mar 1 2019
Revision: 2ba5a26
Qt Version: 5.8.0
Architecture: x86_64
Compiler: gcc 4.8.1
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by andrew » Thu May 30, 2019 2:45 pm

Do you have a (reduced) drawing file you can attach? Thanks.

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 2:49 pm

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your swift reply!

I have added a drawing with two lines; one continuous and one zig zag (in red)
Attachments
zig zag.dxf
(22.53 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by andrew » Thu May 30, 2019 2:57 pm

It looks like the linetype definitions in the file are broken.
Try this:
1. Misc > Modify > Reload Linetype Definitions
2. Select the red line
3. In the property editor, change the linetype scale to 1

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 3:01 pm

Hi Andrew,

Followed your steps; reloaded linetypes, changed linetype scale to 1 but to no avail :?

Saved the DXF and added it to this message.
Attachments
zig zag.dxf
(22.53 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 3:28 pm

OK, Not solved yet but it has got to be a problem/issue with the ltypeshp.cxf. I have studied the mm.lin and saw that the linetype was defined in there pointing to ltypeshp.shx. So I copied that over from my Draftsight install to /home/[username]/opt/qcad-3.22.0-trial-linux-x86_64/fonts. I then modified the file /home/[username]/opt/qcad-3.22.0-trial-linux-x86_64/linetypes/metric/qcadiso.lin to point to the shx file. No luck.

So what now? ;)

EDIT: I forgot to copy the accompanying shp file. So I copied that over and restarted QCAD. Unfortunately not solved :(
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by andrew » Thu May 30, 2019 3:42 pm

Sjonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 3:01 pm
Followed your steps; reloaded linetypes, changed linetype scale to 1 but to no avail :?
Works for me. Check you're not in draft mode (View > Draft mode unchecked) and not in screen based linetype mode (View > Screen-based linetypes unchecked). Make sure your installation is not messed up with copied / linked files from other software. This is something that works out of the box in QCAD Professional and does not need fixing.

If you can't fix, create a new drawing, draw a line and change it to zig-zag. If that does not work, your installation is broken and you need to re-install.

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 3:51 pm

Hi Andrew,

Tried your suggestions but no luck. I will remove the current installation and re-install. Keep you posted!
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 4:03 pm

Hi Andrew,

Re-installing and using the trial version the DWG loads just fine. The problem seems to be in the Cripleware feature. So I have only one option: buy the Pro version ;)

Snip from the differences between QCAD and QCAD Professional:

[snip]
24 different line widths
47 built in linetypes

includes 9 complex linetypes with text / shapes
extendable through .lin files, .cxf files

35 CAD optimized line fonts
[/snip]
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by andrew » Thu May 30, 2019 4:39 pm

You didn't mention you were using the free Community Edition... Complex line types are indeed QCAD Pro only. I'll move to the correct forum.

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 4:48 pm

Just to state the obvious: after upgrading to the payed Pro version all is working as expected. :P

Happy camper over here. Now I only have to forget 30 years of AutoCAD experience :shock:
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

User avatar
Sjonnie
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:02 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Sjonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 4:52 pm

andrew wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 4:39 pm
You didn't mention you were using the free Community Edition... Complex line types are indeed QCAD Pro only. I'll move to the correct forum.
Well I didn't know until an hour ago that there were that much differences between the trial and the cripled version (where you have to delete a few *.so files). Mind you: I am happy to pay for the Pro version! I just had to be sure it did what I needed it to do; and it does! :wink:

Edit: Thanks for your support! It made me decide I had to have the paid Pro version! :)
Greetz,

Sjonnie

Using QCAD Pro (Latest) on Ubuntu 18.04 64 bit

Panchdara
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: How do i - get zig zag lines from AutoCAD to show properly?

Post by Panchdara » Fri May 31, 2019 7:06 am

@Sjonnie, you've seen but the tip of the "support iceberg". Andrew, Husky and others provide unparalleled support for QCAD. You'll not be disappointed.

Best
Win 10, QCAD 3.23

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”