Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
yeti01
Newbie Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:31 am

Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Post by yeti01 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:24 pm

In the attached file (iso_gestrichelt.dxf) there is one ISO dash line of 1mm weight. The line is 14.7cm long (10x1.2cm dashes + 9x0.3cm distances between the dashes).

"Print Preview" shows the expected result:
Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 12.12.40.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 12.12.40.png (11.88 KiB) Viewed 1219 times
If I switch to "Screen-based linetypes" while in Print Preview, it looks like this:
Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 12.12.57.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 12.12.57.png (11.88 KiB) Viewed 1219 times
In my opinion "Screen-based linetypes" should only affect the Construction View but not the Print Preview.
Attachments
iso_gestrichelt.dxf
(21.82 KiB) Downloaded 60 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3134
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Post by Husky » Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:07 pm

yeti01 wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:24 pm
In the attached file (iso_gestrichelt.dxf) there is one ISO dash line of 1mm weight. The line is 14.7cm long (10x1.2cm dashes + 9x0.3cm distances between the dashes).
Your drawing unit is set to Meter what means the line is 14.7 Meter long. Is that done on purpose?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

yeti01
Newbie Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:31 am

Re: Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Post by yeti01 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:07 am

Yes, you are right. The object is meant to be 14,7m long. With a scale of 1:100 the object should appear as a 14,7cm long line. That's fine so far.

In "Print Preview" ("Screen-based Linetypes" switched off) I see exactly what I get on the paper. Switching "Screen-based Linetypes" on while being in "Print Preview" the output changes. In my opinion this should not happen because "Print Preview" should be WYSIWYG.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3134
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Post by Husky » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:47 am

"Screen-based Linetypes" is automatically switched off in Print Preview.
yeti01 wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:07 am
In "Print Preview" ("Screen-based Linetypes" switched off) I see exactly what I get on the paper.
And that would be this:

Husky-2020.01.13-05.png
Husky-2020.01.13-05.png (74.45 KiB) Viewed 1016 times

It looks to me like:
yeti01 wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:24 pm
The line is 14.7cm long (10x1.2cm dashes + 9x0.3cm distances between the dashes).
Isn't that what you are looking for?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6874
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Post by andrew » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:53 am

Husky wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:47 am
"Screen-based Linetypes" is automatically switched off in Print Preview.
This is a user preference, accessible under:
Edit > Application Preferences > Graphics View > Appearance > Auto switch to screen based linetypes in model space

You can work with screen based linetypes in model space as well as in paper space (layout, print preview).

yeti01
Newbie Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:31 am

Re: Screen-based Linetypes affect Print Preview

Post by yeti01 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:42 pm

Thank you guys for the answers!
Husky wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:47 am
"Screen-based Linetypes" is automatically switched off in Print Preview.
Yes, but only if the user setting that Andrew mentions below is switched on. Otherwise not.
andrew wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:53 am
This is a user preference, accessible under:
Edit > Application Preferences > Graphics View > Appearance > Auto switch to screen based linetypes in model space

You can work with screen based linetypes in model space as well as in paper space (layout, print preview).
To be honest I find this behaviour a bit confusing. I would have expected "screen based linetypes" to be always switched off in paper space. Am I wrong?

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”