(Solved)Sum of distances

Use this forum for all posts and questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
Roberto Vid
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 12:10 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro , Brazil

(Solved)Sum of distances

Post by Roberto Vid » Wed May 13, 2020 3:58 pm

Hi,

I would like to know If we have sum marked entity in the QCAD like Librecad. I found distance between two points, distance between entity to point, but sum of distances, I didnt find. In the manual there is subJect matter about that, but I didnt find in the program.

Thanks
Last edited by Roberto Vid on Fri May 15, 2020 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3126
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Sum of distances

Post by Husky » Wed May 13, 2020 6:31 pm

Hi,
Roberto Vid wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 3:58 pm
In the manual there is subJect matter about that, but I didnt find in the program.
The manual is based of the program what means everything in the manual is in the program. :wink:
Please tell us exactly (Manual Chapter, Page) what you can't find in QCAD - I'm sure we can find it together ...
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

Roberto Vid
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 12:10 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro , Brazil

Re: Sum of distances

Post by Roberto Vid » Wed May 13, 2020 11:59 pm

Hi Husky,

Here below atachement.
Attachments
Screenshot_20200513-165246.png
Screenshot_20200513-165246.png (354.3 KiB) Viewed 368 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3126
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Sum of distances

Post by Husky » Thu May 14, 2020 12:27 am

That tool is part of the Info tools.

How to use it:
Select your entities,
launch the tool "Total Length of Selection" below Menu / Info,
the result will be printed in the Command Line.

Alternative:
Select your entities,
Check the "Property Editor", the result will be displayed below "Specific Properties" -> "Total length"

Husky-2020.05.13-01.png
Husky-2020.05.13-01.png (19.51 KiB) Viewed 366 times
Hope that helps.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

riverbuoy
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: Sum of distances

Post by riverbuoy » Thu May 14, 2020 4:37 pm

Hi Roberto,
Roberto Vid wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 3:58 pm
I would like to know If we have sum marked entity in the QCAD like Librecad.
I'm not sure what feature you are referring to in Librecad. As far as I know neither Librecad nor QCAD can keep a running total of distances. As Husky explains above, in QCAD you can see the total length of selected entities in the Property Editor.

What I would do is create a new layer and change its colour, line weight and line type to something distinctive. Then I would draw lines between the points I wish to measure, i.e. a line from point to point, entity to point etc. Then select the lines and open the property editor to view the total length of the selected entities.
Then, when finished, you can hide the layer and carry on with your drawing. If you want to measure more distances, you can turn the Distances layer back on, draw the appropriate lines and see the total length in the Property Editor.
You can quickly change the selection and see the total length change.

I hope this helps.

Regards

riverbuoy

Roberto Vid
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 12:10 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro , Brazil

(Solve)Re: Sum of distances

Post by Roberto Vid » Fri May 15, 2020 8:28 pm

Hi

I would like to thank the Husky and riverbuoy.
I had followed your instructions, and I got good soluction . Its solved. I am grateful.
I had some dificulty because I use Community edition. The  professional edition, has all functions easily, for example polyline edit and others.
I use QCAD for get materials for construccions (buildings).I was using DraftSight, but this one its Very good. I hope to buy professional edition soon, but  I am afraid to buy from internet.

Regards

Roberto


.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3126
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: (Solve)Re: Sum of distances

Post by Husky » Fri May 15, 2020 9:11 pm

Roberto Vid wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 8:28 pm
I had some dificulty because I use Community edition.
Sorry for that - I missed the fact and referred to Pro. My bad! :oops: :oops: :oops:
Roberto Vid wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 8:28 pm
I hope to buy professional edition soon, but I am afraid to buy from internet.
I'm afraid to say that there is properly no other way for you than the internet.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: (Solved)Sum of distances

Post by CVH » Fri May 15, 2020 10:07 pm

I would say: 'Take the gamble'.
I assure you that you don't risk anything.
Besides, 33€ is not the end of the world.

Not convinced.
Search the forum for 'refund'.
-> No Cure, No pay, No nonsense

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Community Edition”