Groups

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

thornuk

Groups

Post by thornuk » Sun Sep 17, 2023 6:25 pm

I've been teaching CAD for a few decades, but am new to QCad.
I'm looking for a means to group entities, but can't find anything. I need to construct a shape, for example a plan of a greenhouse being a rectangle with a mid span line in both vertical and horizontal directions. The only way I've been able to construct this is by drawing single lines and ensuring their start and finish co-ordinates match their appropriate other lines ( a bit like the cross of St George). (If I draw it as a rectangle, subsequently clicking on a line shows it to be a collection of four separate lines, so not a single entity - moving one leaves the others behind, destroying the required image).
Having drawn the shape I then need to move it around (eg: the drawing of the garden) to determine the best position of the (eg) greenhouse. I have drawn the "greenhouse" on its own layer, but that offers no solution to being able to move the collection of lines, and possibly rotate it.
As mentioned, I have experience of teaching 4 or 5 different CAD programs, including 3D parametric, but this is the only one I've used which seems not to have an explicit "group" facility.
How can I achieve this ?
Thanks

QCAD Version: 3.28.1.0 (3.28.1)
Windows 10 Home (all updates)
Best regards,
PeterB

QCad version: 3.28.1.0 (Professional)
Architecture: x86_64

andrew
Site Admin

Re: Groups

Post by andrew » Sun Sep 17, 2023 6:32 pm

You would use blocks for this (blocks are essentially named, reusable groups). Part V in the QCAD e-book is about blocks and how to use them.

CVH
Premier Member

Post by CVH » Sun Sep 17, 2023 6:48 pm

Hi,

https://www.qcad.org/rsforum/viewtopic. ... 310#p36310