Page 1 of 1

Copy Between Layers

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:33 pm
by ov10fac
Anyone know how to copy between layers in 3. I've been looking for about a week with no success. Should be simple as cut and paste!!

Re: Copy Between Layers

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:40 pm
by Clive
Yes it is straight forward as you say - you need to make sure firstly that you are working in the layer you want to copy to and that you tick the ' to current layer' check box.
Copy and paste between layers.png
Copy and paste between layers.png (28.11 KiB) Viewed 6197 times

Re: Copy Between Layers

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:45 pm
by ov10fac
Ok

But I don't have that check box. I'm. Running 3.0 pro on Linux. I cannot find anything that lets me do that

Many thanks, I really did think it should be that simple and it has to be!

Re: Copy Between Layers

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:52 pm
by Clive
To clarify - you are using the cut and paste tools from the Edit tool set ?

I would imagine you are, so this seems strange to me, you should automatically get the 'Paste' options including Rotation, Scale, To Current layer, Overwrite Layers and Overwrite Blocks!

Re: Copy Between Layers

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:34 am
by Husky
Hi everybody,

I'm just wondering .... will you "copy" some lines (or what ever) to an other layer or just "move" to a specific layer?
If you just need to move that means you can use the property editor:
Select line(s) - check the Property Editor for "General" -> "Layer" and change the Layer to the right one .....
Husky-2013.02.11-01.png
Husky-2013.02.11-01.png (29.62 KiB) Viewed 6252 times