Pasting textual Refs to the Command Line

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Pasting textual Refs to the Command Line

Post by CVH » Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:30 am

Hi,

I do a lot of my math in Excel.

Created a function to return a textual absolute cartesian reference like:
e.g. "3;5" or "-18,882947;22,469471" in metric.

When I type this text over to the Command Line it is correctly used once after I hit ENTER.
When I copy this cell content and paste it in the Command Line it is used twice as an entry straight away.
The text is indeed terminated by a Winstyle EOL.
A CR and a LF.

The same behaviour counts for only the last of a multiline Copy/Paste.
A: Only columns of cells work (Excel seperates cells in a row with TAB)
B: The double Winstyle EOL is ignored for all but the last entry.

Copying two cells with the texts: "-79;42" and "-32;17"
And pasting as Refs for a new Line would look like this:

Code: Select all

Command: line
Coordinate: -79;42
Coordinate: -32;17
Coordinate: -32;17
Next Point: (waiting for a next point) 
Meaning that @(-32;17) Qcad created a Null-Line
Texts "-79;42" and "-32;17" are both terminated by CR & LF

Is it possible that Qcad could ignore this last double termination?

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6864
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Pasting textual Refs to the Command Line

Post by andrew » Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:17 am

Can you try pasting to a text editor first, then copy / paste from there?

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Pasting textual Refs to the Command Line

Post by CVH » Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:32 am

That was the proofed workaround.
ok thanks,
got it.
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “Chat”