Active Layer

Have some feedback on the RibbonSoft web site? Want something added to the QCAD online manual? Post it here!

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Active Layer

Post by CVH » Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:30 am

Had someone mentioning this explanation:
On: https://www.ribbonsoft.com/en/tutorial- ... ith-layers
Step 3:
'The layer list always shows you which layer is currently active: the one that is highlighted in the list.'

Same on: https://www.qcad.org/en/tutorial-working-with-layers

Regards,
CVH

Panchdara
Senior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: Active Layer

Post by Panchdara » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:01 pm

I can concur. See attached. When a layer is selected (highlighted & with pencil) and then a new layer is added then that new layer is selected as shown by a pencil, HOWEVER that layer is NOT highlighted, but the previously selected layer is in fact still highlighted. This has sometimes been a distraction as I'll glance at the layers panel, immediately see a highlighted layer and presume that to be the current layer. I've mentioned this characteristic before.

Best
Attachments
LayerHL-1.wmv
(1.52 MiB) Downloaded 33 times
QCAD 3.25.2.x / Windows 10 2004 x86_64

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Active Layer

Post by CVH » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:27 pm

Panchdara,
What you show as highlighted is what we see if we click near the text.
That is different if we click in the 'pencil column'.
Try a click even in the void of a drawing and that gets cleared.
The Layer List Widget can use alternating colors too...

It's obvious that the pencil is newer art.

Already thanks for merely reading my topic.
Regards,
CVH

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3420
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Active Layer

Post by Husky » Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:12 pm

CVH wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:30 am
Had someone mentioning this explanation:
No, looks like everybody else was able to keep up with the permanent QCAD development and accepted that it can take a bit longer to update the documentation.
CVH wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:27 pm
It's obvious that the pencil is newer art.
Of course - on that way you are able to handle new implemented feature like multiple layer selection in the layer list. I'm wondering how a longtime forum member could possible miss this ...

Husky-2020.12.08-02.png
Husky-2020.12.08-02.png (27.85 KiB) Viewed 632 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Active Layer

Post by CVH » Wed Dec 09, 2020 3:13 am

Husky wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:12 pm
Of course - on that way you are able to handle new implemented feature like multiple layer selection in the layer list. I'm wondering how a longtime forum member could possible miss this ...
Someone mentioned me that the tutorial I, you, Andrew or 'we' in general regularly point to was a little off.
That's all there is written.... with lesser words.

Your choice of words is disparaging on my behalf, as usual, and totally not constructive.
Duly noted.

Panchdara describes a different behavior what is not really 'highlighted', rather a 'trailing' nature.

The layer selection here is one single layer, the active one. The one indicated by the pencil.
SelectionTrailing1.png
SelectionTrailing1.png (18.34 KiB) Viewed 623 times
Reproducible by first selecting 'M_Tamara' near the text followed by selecting 'M_aks' near/in the pencil column.
('Layer selection' count can be verified with 'Display properties of current block or current layer' under AppPrefs .. Widgets .. Property Editor)

With any next click/action anywhere else this is simply cleared to gray.
Or better: When the Layer List Widget looses the focus,
The layer selection remains one single layer, the active one. The one indicated by the pencil.
SelectionTrailing2.png
SelectionTrailing2.png (18.08 KiB) Viewed 623 times
Hovering has another kind of being 'highlighted'.
The layer selection remains one single layer, the active one. The one indicated by the pencil.
(The cursor on the line 'M-alan-iç' is not included in the PrtScrn)
SelectionTrailing+Hover.png
SelectionTrailing+Hover.png (19 KiB) Viewed 623 times

All this is NOT about a multi selection that looks completely different.
The layer selection here are two distinct layers.
Here the active layer is part of the 'highlighted'.
MultiSelection.png
MultiSelection.png (14.54 KiB) Viewed 623 times
With hovering ...
The layer selection remains the two distinct layers.
(The cursor on the line 'M-alan-iç' is not included in the PrtScrn)
MultiSelection+Hover.png
MultiSelection+Hover.png (19.77 KiB) Viewed 623 times
In these last two examples both distinct layers in selection also gray when the Layer List Widget looses the focus.
Similar as below.

The active layer does NOT have to be part of a multi selection.
The layer selection here are three distinct layers, excluding the active one.
And this is not because it is frozen, what has nothing to do with a layer in selection or not.
MultiSelection-Active.png
MultiSelection-Active.png (19.49 KiB) Viewed 623 times

Now you all have the long version like I explained it to the Someone...

Sorry for:
Trying to stay constructive and for my offensive language if perceived as such.
CVH

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3420
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Active Layer

Post by Husky » Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:12 am

I consider your initial topic opening as a plain accusation - far away from a question and obviously not meant to start any constructive conversation. Zero explanation for what reason it was posted. Just a statement out of the blue - open for any interpretation. Well, what goes around, comes around.

What is wrong with a kind: Hey I noticed something what is possible wrong. Here is a description of what I think isn't correct. I'll file a report in the bugreport and the person in charge can decide to take care of it at a time which is convenient for him/her.
Ok, that isn't really a forum rule but most user luckily acting that way ...

This "splitting hairs", looking for the "hair in the soup" and the "water glass is half empty" mentality isn't helpful for anybody. We sit all in the same boat for different reason. If we don't row in the same direction the boat will break ...

I'm willing to think about how I treat you. What's about you?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1191
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Active Layer

Post by CVH » Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:47 am

Husky wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:12 am
far away from a question
Feedback.png
Feedback.png (1.16 KiB) Viewed 601 times
Posted as an open Feedback for both the QCAD sites, not as a question, not as an answer nor knowing what should be the current intended behavior.
Not knowing how that acts by others, with other preferences, other display modes, on other OS or with other installations methods.

Not entitled to write up a newer tutorial, nor willing to invest any time in it.
For some, it never will be correct enough anyway.

Not having any problem with the current art as it runs on my system.
But standing corrected that the tutorial, referenced by me with good intentions, is talking about a highlight.
CVH

Post Reply

Return to “Site Feedback”