Exoprt a high resolution image file?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
astridoa
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 5:17 pm

Exoprt a high resolution image file?

Post by astridoa » Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:25 am

How can I export a high resolution image file - apt for publication print - from QCAD pro?

I have tried through bitmap export, but the results are very low resolution!
I'd be very pleased by your help!

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6331
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Exoprt a high resolution image file?

Post by andrew » Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:00 am

- File > Bitmap Export...
- In the file dialog, choose the format (BMP, PNG, JPEG, TIFF, ...)
- In the bitmap export dialog, choose the desired image size or resolution in pixels per drawing unit:
Screen Shot 2015-02-04 at 09.38.11.png
Screen Shot 2015-02-04 at 09.38.11.png (36.66 KiB) Viewed 2633 times
Keep an eye on the width and height of the bitmap. Large values can potentially produce huge image files or even stop QCAD if it runs out of memory:
- 1'000 x 1'000 -> ~ 3MB
- 2'000 x 2'000 -> ~ 12MB
- 5'000 x 5'000 -> ~ 75MB
- 10'000 x 10'000 -> ~ 300MB
- 20'000 x 20'000 -> ~ 1.2GB (might fail)
- 100'000 x 100'000 -> ~ 30GB (will almost certainly fail!)

algrass
Active Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:13 pm

Re: Change default 640x480

Post by algrass » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:38 pm

Is there a way to change the default 640x480 in the Bitmap Export dialog box to another one? I normally use 1920x1080 and would be desirable to set this new size as a default rather than entering it every time. Is there an xml file that can be modified?

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”