QCAD freezing

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
Rantanplan7
Full Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:06 pm
Location: Germany - Heidelberg

QCAD freezing

Post by Rantanplan7 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:19 pm

Hi together,

I have an old drawing from Autosketch which I would like to use in QCAD. So I have saved it in Autosketch as DWG an opened it in QCAD. As it is in many bits and pieces I tried to make a block from it, but if I do so QCAD freezes.
DCC_10_ATM.DWG
(2.31 MiB) Downloaded 55 times
I have attached the file - any ideas why? Too many elements?
Best Regards

Sven

QCAD 3.21.3 / Windows 10 Professional 64-bit / 8 GB RAM, i5 8350U@1.9GHz, SSD
(former Autosketch 10 user)

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: QCAD freezing

Post by Husky » Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:14 pm

Rantanplan7 wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:19 pm
I have attached the file - any ideas why?
Yes.
Rantanplan7 wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:19 pm
Too many elements?
Yes and no. QCAD has no problems to handle this drawing but your Hardware is struggling with it. QCAD doesn't freeze but it is busy for a long time.
Tip: Open the drawing and save it under a new name. That will already reduce the file size to less than the half of the original. Open it again, search and delete duplicates and zero length entities (kind of cleaning ;)). Than try to built your block - if your hardware is still struggling - try this one .... :wink:

DCC_10_ATM_mod.DWG
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 49 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Rantanplan7
Full Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:06 pm
Location: Germany - Heidelberg

Re: QCAD freezing

Post by Rantanplan7 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:16 am

Thanks Husky. It is still slow on my system. Next year I get a new laptop and hopefully large files will not anymore slow QCAD a lot down.
Still a bit strange for me to understand as I cannot see a bottleneck in the taskmanager while QCAD is working on this file - there is still free RAM available, CPU cores are all not on 100% working.
However, I'm a bit surprised about this as the minimum specs from Andrew are far below my laptop. What about adding a recommended spec sheet to give anyone an idea what is needed to get a reasonable system for QCAD?
Best Regards

Sven

QCAD 3.21.3 / Windows 10 Professional 64-bit / 8 GB RAM, i5 8350U@1.9GHz, SSD
(former Autosketch 10 user)

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCAD freezing

Post by andrew » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:21 am

System requirements depend on your drawing file complexity. QCAD will run an pretty much any reasonably modern system. However, performance will degrade on any system as the drawing gets complexer.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”