Need help with a custom postprocessor for Mach3 Plasma table

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
Lazer
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:56 pm

Need help with a custom postprocessor for Mach3 Plasma table

Post by Lazer » Sat Mar 09, 2019 10:46 pm

I need help creating a new custom postprocessor for Mach3 plasma table. I tried the G-code that "Mach3(G41/G42)in" generates and run it on the machine. It mostly works on the machine, but it does not shut off plasma at the end of each contour. I edited the G-code file manually and changed the Z2 (goto z 2 inches safety height) to M5, and it works correctly now. I just need to know how and where to change (or add the M5) the Z2 line to M5 line instead in the postprocessors, and in which postprocessor in particular.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6397
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Need help with a custom postprocessor for Mach3 Plasma table

Post by andrew » Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:08 am

The "Mach3 Laser (G41/G42) in" postprocessor is likely closer to what you need.
You can adjust "this.zPassHeader" and "this.zPassFooter" accordingly, for example:

Code: Select all

    this.zPassHeader = [
        "[N] (replace this with the code to switch the laser on)"
    ];

    this.zPassFooter = [
        "[N] (replace this with the code to switch the laser off)"
    ];

Lazer
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:56 pm

Re: Need help with a custom postprocessor for Mach3 Plasma table

Post by Lazer » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:30 pm

Thanks for the help Andrew! I really appreciate it!

I did create a custom postprocessor and I included the lines you suggested, plus I added some other tweaks to it and now its perfect. Works like a charm.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6397
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Need help with a custom postprocessor for Mach3 Plasma table

Post by andrew » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:12 am

You're welcome. Good to hear it's working now.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”