close polylines

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
Sigridsisi
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:49 pm

close polylines

Post by Sigridsisi » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:18 pm

Hi everybody,

I'm working on Mac Mojave, Qcad pro 3.22. I create files for a CNC cutting machine. The files are not working on the CNC if all the polylines are not closed. I use the hatch tool to figure out which loops are not closed. In the file below I tried to close the loop with the logically close Polyline tool, but it didn't work. I also tried the property editor, Polyline closed : yes, but it created a new line.
Are there other possibilites to clean the files for a CNC machine ?
thanks
Bildschirmfoto 2019-04-25 um 12.43.21.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-04-25 um 12.43.21.png (223.68 KiB) Viewed 335 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6243
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: close polylines

Post by andrew » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:40 pm

Please attach your DXF drawing file, thanks.

Sigridsisi
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: close polylines

Post by Sigridsisi » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:45 pm

this is the dxf
RondsAPJ.dxf
(185.55 KiB) Downloaded 42 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6243
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: close polylines

Post by andrew » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:51 pm

1. Modify > Detection > Detect Duplicates
This finds and selects 10 entities.
2. Click delete button at the top right.
3. Select > Select All
4. Draw > Polyline > Polyline from Selection
This leaves one entity selected which is not connected to anything due to gaps. Correct these.

There are many other points where entities are not properly connected (intersections or gaps). You might want to use the '>' key to select the polylines one by one and correct those problems.

Note: if you use the proper trim or break out tools to create such a drawing, you will not be left with such unwanted intersections or gaps.

Sigridsisi
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: close polylines

Post by Sigridsisi » Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:17 pm

it works, this was really very helpful. thanks a lot !!! :D

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”