Multiple views

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Multiple views

Post by Dreamaker » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:04 pm

I can't seem to figure out how to get multiple views. Like X, Y, and Z views.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Multiple views

Post by Husky » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:51 am

Dreamaker wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:04 pm
I can't seem to figure out how to get multiple views. Like X, Y, and Z views.
Not sure what do you mean :oops: but ...

... two things what I can think of.

1. You have a First / Third-angle projection with a Front / Side and Top view and you like to have them each in a window.
That is what you can accomplish with Layout Viewpoints:

Husky-2019.08.07-03.png
Husky-2019.08.07-03.png (68.27 KiB) Viewed 3446 times

2. Or the CAM 3D Display ...

Husky-2019.08.07-04.png
Husky-2019.08.07-04.png (82.07 KiB) Viewed 3446 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Multiple views

Post by Dreamaker » Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:03 pm

I am looking for the old fashion X, Y, and Z views, or Top, Front and Side views. Normally I just need the one view, but for things, when I have to figure something out, I may need additional views. I want so see the top of an object and the front and side of an object in the different views. I did a quick check on the Viewports, (Did understand what that term function was) but I was a little confused, I did the three view and in all three and it showed the top of the object, not from three directions.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Multiple views

Post by CVH » Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:27 pm

3D view of a 2D drawing?
In X or Y that are lines.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Multiple views

Post by Husky » Thu Aug 08, 2019 8:29 pm

Dreamaker wrote:
Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:03 pm
... but I was a little confused, I did the three view and in all three and it showed the top of the object, not from three directions.
I was there too :wink:

Here a brief description on how a Layout Viewports works ...

The source for all Layout Viewports is based on ONE drawing. It will divide the canvas in multiple views. Every view can be adjusted to your needs what means you can zoom in, zoom out, pan etc. each view separately. To make a view active you just have to hover the mouse pointer over the view or click into the view. The benefit is that you can see all important views concentrated on your monitor. Every distracting thing in your drawing is out of sign. Additional every modification like drawing a line is life visible in all views if it effects the other view.

How to use a Layout Viewport:
This example shows a First angle projection - the original drawing looks like this:

Husky-2019.08.08-07.png
Husky-2019.08.08-07.png (77.93 KiB) Viewed 3420 times

After launching the Layout View below Drawing Preferences it looks like this ...

Husky-2019.08.08-04.png
Husky-2019.08.08-04.png (83.39 KiB) Viewed 3420 times


Now you have to adjust each view with zoom, pan etc to get this ...

Husky-2019.08.08-05.png
Husky-2019.08.08-05.png (80.2 KiB) Viewed 3420 times

Basically you are now ready to go. The next screenshot shows that I draw a yellow line in the top left view which is also life visible in the right View ...

Husky-2019.08.08-06.png
Husky-2019.08.08-06.png (86.41 KiB) Viewed 3420 times

To make my life even easier I created a View List to be able to go fast back to the Top, Side or Front view ...

Husky-2019.08.08-08.png
Husky-2019.08.08-08.png (82.08 KiB) Viewed 3420 times

.... Why? Because I'm pretty lazy! e_confused

Is that what you are looking for?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Multiple views

Post by Dreamaker » Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:48 am

That is what I am looking for. I follow you all the way up to the point on how to adjust the views, to get the three views Not sure how to pan them in to the separate the views. I will struggle through a bit to try and figure it out.

Before I forget, I want to thank every one for their input!!
Last edited by Dreamaker on Sat Aug 10, 2019 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Multiple views

Post by Husky » Fri Aug 09, 2019 5:20 am

Dreamaker wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:48 am
That is what I am looking for.
Great!
Dreamaker wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:48 am
Not sure how to pan them in to the separate the views. I will struggle through a bit to try and figure it out.
You can use different methods .... QCAD offers a lot alternatives.

Howsoever - in this case I would click into the view to activate it, use the Zoom tool "Auto Zoom" to see the whole drawing, select what needs to be at a maximum in that view and then use the Zoom tool "Zoom to selection. You'll figure it out ... :wink:

Husky-2019.08.08-10.png
Husky-2019.08.08-10.png (86.23 KiB) Viewed 3404 times
Dreamaker wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:48 am
Before I forget, I want to than every one for their input!!
You're quit welcome.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Multiple views

Post by Dreamaker » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:36 pm

Haven't got it yet, but I was thinking, may be I am asking the wrong question or not asking it right. Let say, if I have a single view of something I want to create with all the information I need to mill it. Can I take that single view and turn them in to three views without drawing the views separately , like we did in drafting class.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Multiple views

Post by Husky » Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:28 am

Dreamaker wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:36 pm
Can I take that single view and turn them in to three views without drawing the views separately , like we did in drafting class.
No, that is impossible with a 2D CAD program.

Question: Could it be that you have seen something what was able to do that? If yes, was that a 3D CAD program? Here is a FreeCad example:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DGtVKnSFTY
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Dreamaker
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: Multiple views

Post by Dreamaker » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:21 pm

That is where I got lost! I kind of figured that may be if the information is set up for doing 2.5D for mill work. In a sense it would be like a pseudo 3D because the information is there for the CAM conversion. In the 3D simulator you can turn you object in different angles with is like different views, but shows as cut layers. So it was a communication issue on my part. Thanks for the help and sorry for the trouble. I have a couple 3D CAD programs, but no CAM programs to support them. Qrcad is a great CAD/CAM program and have had lots of fun using it and learning from it.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”