Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
jooogger
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:34 am

Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by jooogger » Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:40 am

I switched to scroll up(down) via mouse wheel and now want to make combination Ctrl+Wheel to Zoom In (Zoom Out), like is being in browsers. How do I to do this? Windows OS, Last QCad version 3.25.2.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by Husky » Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:06 am

Have you tried the mouse wheel without Ctrl?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

jooogger
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:34 am

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by jooogger » Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:30 am

Husky wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:06 am
Have you tried the mouse wheel without Ctrl?
QCad by default:
Zoom - Mouse Wheel,
Scroll Up/Down - Ctrl+Wheel,
Scroll Left/Right - Shift+Wheel.

Every browser (and much more software) has other behavior:
Zoom - Ctrl+Wheel,
Scroll Up/Down - Wheel,
Scroll Left/Right - Shift+Wheel.

I've found and changed to scroll up/down via Wheel at "Application Preferences"-> Graphics view:Navigation

Now I'm looking to make Zoom as Ctrl+Wheel to make QCad's behavior like any other software.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by Husky » Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:59 am

jooogger wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:30 am
Every browser (and much more software) has other behavior:
Browser yes, other CAD software nope ... at least not the 2D and 3D software which I have in use. BTW - I'm wondering how you can compare a browser to a CAD software ...? Howsoever - Good luck.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1440
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by CVH » Sun Nov 22, 2020 6:51 am

jooogger,

IMHO: If one can swap the functionality then it should swap both behaviors, I agree.
Changing the setting gives you with or without [Ctrl] the same behavior.
But remark that it doesn't necessarily state that wheel = this or that behavior.

Commonly as in this App or that App has only meaning if one couldn't choose a preference at all.

Remember that Andrew isn't a mouse guy and give him some credit. Topic5334 Post19814

Regards,
CVH

jooogger
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:34 am

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by jooogger » Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:49 am

Husky wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:59 am
jooogger wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:30 am
Every browser (and much more software) has other behavior:
Browser yes, other CAD software nope ... at least not the 2D and 3D software which I have in use. BTW - I'm wondering how you can compare a browser to a CAD software ...? Howsoever - Good luck.
Other software, uses same logic "Ctrl+Wheel = Zoom; Wheel = Scroll Up-Down", is office applications like MS Word + MS Excel. It is good to use CAD only, but many ppl forced to use different applications and it would be nice to give such people the same behavior in all their programs. Or, at least, ability to choose right behavior.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1440
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by CVH » Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:36 pm

jooogger,

Let us be clear:
A) You didn't change from Wheel = Zoom to Wheel = Scroll in the first place.
You did change from Wheel = Zoom(Zoom Wheel mouse) to Wheel = Scroll(Trackpad, Multi Touch-mouse)
There is no preference setting for Ctrl+Wheel = scroll or Ctrl+Wheel is zoom.

B) QCAD is not native windows, it is cross-platform.
There are numerous things that won't work out simply because it also runs on windows.
Gaps can be bridged up to a certain point, still Microsoft is and stays only Microsoft.
It made Gates big bucks, a few dollars for every bug. :wink:

C) Don't compare CAD with browsers, spreadsheets or textbased application.
Compare it with other CAD applications. Others might prove you wrong in yet some other applications.
E.g. My CNC soft pans with holding left and movement, zooms when holding right and movement.

D) Don't compare QCAD in full extend with all other CAD, subscribe to the so said better CAD and pay your fee.

E) Don't classify it as good or bad, wrong or right behavior.
That would only apply to some depending their particular taste, platform and hardware.

F) Be glad that mouse support is implemented, the author can't use a mouse.


jooogger wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:49 am
It would be nice to give such people the same behavior in all their programs.
That is the essence of your post, 'It would be nice that ...'
It is by your preference.

For such things we enter a feature request.
'It would be nice that I (you) can swap the Wheel and the Ctrl+Wheel behavior'.

There is a place for such requests:
https://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/
File your request there and substantiate your feature application very thoroughly. :wink:
After that ... Get in line. :roll:
look up: FS#1005 (2014), FS#1111 (2015)

Valid requests get listed, Andrew can't keep track of all the noise on the forum.
As a preference you can count on my vote, not that I will ever use it.
Non-valid request get disapproved with reasoning.
When it is a bug, and it tends to that, Andrew will promote your request and even fix it on the fly.

Regards,
CVH

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1440
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by CVH » Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:16 am

A feature request was filed by 'Ar ren':
https://qcad.org/bugtracker/index.php?d ... sk_id=2140

joooger, Ar_ren,
As promised: voted for it. :wink:
It is of no use if the zoom with the wheel becomes impossible.

Regards,
CVH

Rantanplan7
Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:06 pm
Location: Germany - Heidelberg

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by Rantanplan7 » Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:39 am

I'm a mouse guy but if it makes sense and if I'm faster I use the keyboard as well sometimes.
After getting a bit used to CAD software which I use only some days and not daily I have to say that the actual behaviour fits perfect.
Zooming in and out straight away with the mouse wheel and moving the drawing freely in every direction by pressing and holding the mouse wheel is very good. The only more thing I use is ZA to get the whole drawing.
I have changed some of the shortcuts but after a while I got back to the default settings......
Best Regards

Sven

QCAD 3.25.2.4 / Windows 10 Professional 64-bit / 8 GB RAM, i5 [email protected], SSD
(former Autosketch 10 user)

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by Husky » Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:45 am

Rantanplan7 wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:39 am
... I have to say that the actual behaviour fits perfect.
Zooming in and out straight away with the mouse wheel and moving the drawing freely in every direction by pressing and holding the mouse wheel is very good. The only more thing I use is ZA to get the whole drawing.
Yep, same here! :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1440
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by CVH » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:20 am

Holding Wheel down = free panning (+zoom)
As some others did report this too in the past:
This is rather difficult without actually changing the zoom factor.

Wheel = Zoom (without pan)
Ctrl + Wheel = panning vertical (without zoom)
Shift + Wheel = panning horizontal (without zoom)

With the mentioned setting the zoom with the Wheel is disabled.
The 2 methods don't fully swap with the setting.
At that point I have to agree.

But I don't have to agree with the 'wrong or right', 'Better', 'Common', 'a hell'.

Regards,
CVH

Rantanplan7
Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:06 pm
Location: Germany - Heidelberg

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by Rantanplan7 » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:37 am

CVH wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:20 am
Holding Wheel down = free panning (+zoom)
As some others did report this too in the past:
This is rather difficult without actually changing the zoom factor.

But I don't have to agree with the 'wrong or right', 'Better', 'Common', 'a hell'.

Regards,
CVH
You get used to holding wheel down - and you might have to change the mouse. A mouse where you don't need much force to press the wheel down makes this much easier.
Best Regards

Sven

QCAD 3.25.2.4 / Windows 10 Professional 64-bit / 8 GB RAM, i5 [email protected], SSD
(former Autosketch 10 user)

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1440
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: Make Ctrl+Mouse wheel as Zoom?

Post by CVH » Wed Nov 25, 2020 8:41 am

This will be my last hardware setup, ever.
Your solution has nothing to do with changing preferences.
CVH

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”