Can not open DXF-File

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Manfred
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:34 pm

Can not open DXF-File

Postby Manfred » Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:49 pm

Hello,

I attached a file, which I can not open with QCAD. With OpenOffice and AutoVue I can open the file. QCAD opens the file as "empty" sheet. I do not get any error messages. What can I check to resolve the problem?

Thanks

Manfred

Head of the File:

0
SECTION
2
HEADER
9
$ACADVER
1
AC1009
9
$INSBASE
10
0.0
20
0.0
30
0.0
9
$EXTMIN
10
-1
20
-1
30
-0.5
9
$EXTMAX
10
5.5
20
5.86602540378444
30
5.5
9
$UCSORG
10
0.0
20
0.0
30
0.0
9
$UCSXDIR
10
1.0
20
0.0
30
0.0
9
$UCSYDIR
10
0.0
20
1.0
30
0.0
9
$CLAYER
8
0
9
$SHADEDGE
70
3
0
ENDSEC
0
SECTION
2
TABLES
0
TABLE
2
LTYPE
70
2
0
LTYPE
2
CONTINUOUS
70
0
3
Solid line
72
65
Attachments
TestRibbonSoft.dxf
(41.02 KiB) Downloaded 242 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4758
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Can not open DXF-File

Postby andrew » Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:58 pm

Thanks for your report.

The file contains only three dimensional objects (type FACE).

QCAD does not import 3D objects as it is a 2D CAD solution.

If you let me know what you are trying to do with that file in QCAD, I'm happy to be of further assistance or work on a solution (e.g. import flattened faces).

Manfred
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:34 pm

Re: Can not open DXF-File

Postby Manfred » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:40 am

Thank you for your replay.

It is new to me that DXF can contain 3D-data. I like to get a 2D contour of the top view to make a measurement drawing for the electical test points. In this case it seems not posible to this, because I cannot do any configurations for the output of the 3D-ECAD system.

Best regards

Manfred


Return to “QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests