Drilling and Tapping

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Indicate the post processor used.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:14 pm

Is it possible to use points for drilling and/or tapping?

For example in LinuxCNC you can use canned cycles for drilling like so:

Code: Select all

G90 G0 X0 Y0 Z0 (coordinate home)
G1 X0 G4 P0.1
G81 X1 Y0 Z0 R1 (canned drill cycle the R word is the retract position)
X2
X3
X4
Y1 Z0.5
X3
X2
X1
G80 (turn off canned cycle)
G53 G0 Z0 (rapid to machine home)
G0 X0 Y0 (rapid to part 0)
M2 (program end)
JT

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by andrew » Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:28 pm

Points are by default treated like this: move to position, tool down, tool up.

You can overwrite exportPoint to change this behavior (this code produces the default behavior):
Lcnc_Mill.prototype.exportPoint = function(point) {
    // tool up and move to position of point:
    this.writeToolUp();
    this.rapidMove(point.getPosition());

    // point position in target coordinates, write rapid move:
    var pointTarget = this.convert(point.getPosition());
    this.writeRapidLinearMove(pointTarget.x, pointTarget.y);

    // process point (default: tool down, tool up):
    this.writeToolDown();
    this.writeToolUp();

    // add point to output (for preview purposes only):
    var entity = new RPointEntity(this.newDocument, new RPointData(pointTarget));
    entity.setLayerId(this.getCamLayerId());
    this.op.addObject(entity, false);

    this.cursor = point.getPosition();
};

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:33 pm

I created a drawing with 6 point and ran the cam export and the resulting G code was:

Code: Select all

G20 G17 G40 G49 G54 G64 P0.005 G80 G90 G94
G0 Z0.5
Z0.25 F200
Z0.5
M2
Do the points need to be on a line or something else?

JT

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:39 pm

I see export point is not in GCode.js that might be my problem.

I added export point and I still get the same G code as above.

JT
Last edited by jthornton on Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by andrew » Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:39 pm

That might be a bug. I've created a bug report at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... ask_id=958

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:43 pm

Ok, Thanks

JT

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:02 pm

Any progress on getting the bug fixed?

Andrew are you the only one that works on Qcad?

Thanks
JT

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by andrew » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:03 pm

jthornton wrote:Any progress on getting the bug fixed?
No. You can follow the progress through our bug tracker at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... &project=1
jthornton wrote:Andrew are you the only one that works on Qcad?
Yes.

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:15 pm

andrew wrote:
jthornton wrote:Any progress on getting the bug fixed?
No. You can follow the progress through our bug tracker at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... &project=1
jthornton wrote:Andrew are you the only one that works on Qcad?
Yes.
Is there is anything I can do to help? I'm fluent in Python so I can read and follow along in java pretty well.

JT

jthornton
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:31 pm

Re: Drilling and Tapping

Post by jthornton » Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:48 am

Andrew,

Great news I see the points not exported bug report is closed.

Thanks
JT

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”