Tutorial: Resetting the QCAD Configuration

This tutorial walks you through the steps to reset QCAD to its default configuration.

Table of Contents

 

Introduction

If your configuration is somehow damaged and you cannot get it back to normal, you might want to reset QCAD to its default settings as they were when QCAD was first installed.

This will affect:

  • arrangement and visibility of toolbars and dockable widgets
  • arrangement and visibility of tools
  • user interface language
  • default settings for new drawings
  • etc.

Step 1: Quitting QCAD

Make sure that QCAD is closed before resetting the configuration.

Step 2: Deleting the QCAD Configuration File

Windows

  • Make sure that system files and system folders are displayed in Windows Explorer:
    • Open Windows Explorer (e.g. Start > All Programms > Accessories > Windows Explorer)
    • Windows XP:
      • Tools > Folder Options > View > Show hidden files and folders
    • Windows Vista, 7, 8, 10:
      • View > Options > Change folder and search options > View > Show hidden files, folders, and drives
  • The file QCAD3.ini is located in
    (where "username" is your login name):
    • Windows XP:
      C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\QCAD\QCAD3.ini 
    • Windows Vista, Windows 7, 8, 10:
      C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\QCAD\QCAD3.ini
  • Delete or rename the file QCAD3.ini
  • Start QCAD

Linux

  • Delete the file ~/.config/QCAD/QCAD3.conf
  • Start QCAD

macOS

  • Open Finder
  • Choose menu Go > Go to Folder...
  • enter ~/.config/QCAD
  • Click OK
  • Delete file QCAD3.ini
  • Start QCAD